Menu 1 Image

About Us

Houston Arts Alliance (HAA) is the local nonprofit arts and culture agency that enhances the city’s quality of life through advancing and investing in the arts and diverse cultural programming. The work of HAA encourages Houston’s development and shapes its global reputation by fostering tourism and supporting and promoting the city’s creative economy.

Menu 2 Image

Public Art

Creating public spaces for civic and cultural use requires artists, designers, architects, and the community to collaborate. By actively fostering these partnerships, both public and private, HAA’s Civic Art + Design program initiates, manages, and maintains public artworks throughout Houston. It serves a vital role as catalyst for change that generates a culturally relevant and rich environment for residents and visitors alike.

Menu 3 Image

Folklife + Civic Engagement

Houston Arts Alliance’s Folklife + Civic Engagement program identifies and honors the artistic and cultural traditions of the city’s tremendously diverse and various communities and works to address the needs of all residents through engagement, citizen-driven initiatives, and equitable community outcomes. The Folklife program has been in existence since 2010. The addition of Civic Engagement to its portfolio was enacted through an HAA bylaws change in 2016.

Menu 4 Image


Grants are a fundamental means of promoting excellence in the creative sector. On behalf of the City of Houston, HAA awards approximately 225 grants annually to nonprofit arts and cultural organizations and individual artists through a competitive grant allocation process.

Menu 5 Image

Capacity Building

Houston Arts Alliance provides voice and leadership through its support of arts organizations and individual artists with programs and services that help build and foster a vibrant and creative community—these programs and services help to ensure that the arts professionals’ creative contributions remain a vital part of community life across Houston and the region.

Menu 8 Image


Houston Arts Alliance continues to play an important role in arts and culture research projects, initiating and participating in studies that demonstrate the far-reaching impact of arts and culture on our economy and quality of life.

Menu 9 Image

Get Involved

Looking for a way to lend a hand? Investing in the arts and culture is an investment in the quality of life for all Houstonians. Join Houston Arts Alliance as a donor, member or volunteer!

Menu 10 Image


Houston Arts Alliance utilizes different vehicles to communicate with it diverse audiences, ranging from the city’s arts and culture community to residents to tourists. Find out more about HAA’s electronic newsletters and connect with us through social media. Our online Press Room provides resources for members of the media.

Thursday, September 28, 2017
close button
Saturday, December 2, 2017
close button
Monday, December 11, 2017
close button
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
close button
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
close button
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
close button
Thursday, December 14, 2017
close button
Monday, December 18, 2017
close button
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
close button

Board + Advisory Council

Governed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors, Houston Arts Alliance is committed to maintaining a board that is diverse by culture, ethnicity, gender, and other important criteria, as well as geographically representative of the Houston/Harris County metropolitan area. Members of the Board serve three-year terms and are eligible for reappointment to a second consecutive term.

Of the 31 members, 22 directors are nominated and elected by the Board. Board officers are appointed by the Leadership Committee. In addition to the 22 members, up to three repeat directors may serve at any given time. After stepping down for one year, previous members are eligible for nomination to serve a maximum of two additional consecutive three-year terms.

Six Board members are appointed by the mayor of Houston and approved by City Council. The remaining three are voting ex-officio members, one each representing the Mayor’s Office, the Greater Houston Convention & Visitors Bureau, and the Hotel & Lodging Association of Greater Houston. In addition, partner liaisons representing the Houston Museum District, Miller Outdoor Theatre, Houston Theater District, and Houston First Corporation hold non-voting positions on the Board.

Emeritus Members are previous Board members who have made extraordinary service and contribution to the mission of HAA. The membership of the Emeritus Members cannot exceed ten individuals and has no term limits.

There are four board meetings per year, and they are open to the public, per the Texas Open Meetings Act.

The HAA Advisory Board is composed of active civic leaders as well as members who have achieved outstanding recognition in their particular artistic endeavor on a local, regional, or national level. Advisory Board members may be called upon for assistance with specifically identified projects for which that member has expertise or access to other resources. 



Philamena Baird, Chairman of the Board
Leigh Smith, Vice Chair
Suresh Raghavan, Treasurer
Gigi Myung, Secretary*
Lauren Anderson*
Nancy Allen
Susanne Burkeholder
Sylvia Cásares
David Cordúa
Alejandro Colom
Andrew Davis
Jon Deal
Tammy Dowe*
Regina Garcia
Roland Garcia*
Lloyd Gite*
Ashley Langley
Lester Marks
Craig Massey
Fatima Mawji
Erin McClarty
Debbie McNulty
Adán Medrano
Judy Nyquist
Randhir Sahni
Richard Schechter
Paula Sutton
Sebastien Solar
J. Michael Treviño
Louise Upshaw-McClenny
Mike Waterman
Fabené J. Welch, Emeritus

Partner Liaisons
Julie Farr, Houston Museum District
Cissy Segall Davis, Miller Outdoor Theatre
Kathryn Chace McNiel, Houston Theater District
Dawn Ullrich, Houston First Corporation

*Mayoral Appointee


David Wuthrich, Chair
Eddie and Chinhui Allen
Valentina Atkinson
Laura D. Bellows
Leslie D. Blanton
Marie Taylor Bosarge
Jereann Chaney
C.C. Conner
Michael J. Cordúa
Joseph C. Dilg
Lily and Charles Foster
Jo and Jim Furr
Donald J Henderson
Boris Hidalgo
Randall Jamail
Anne Lamkin Kinder
David LaDuca
Peter McStravick
Sara Morgan
Stephen Newton
Lynda Lighthouse Transier
Phoebe Tudor
Margaret Alkek Williams
Ed Wulfe


Edward Albee
Liz Levitt Hirsch
David Henry Hwang
Robert L. Lynch
Marti Mayo
Larry Warsh


July 16
close button