Menu 1 Image

About Us

Houston Arts Alliance (HAA) is the local nonprofit arts and culture agency that enhances the city’s quality of life through advancing and investing in the arts and diverse cultural programming. The work of HAA encourages Houston’s development and shapes its global reputation by fostering tourism and supporting and promoting the city’s creative economy.

Menu 2 Image

Public Art

Creating public spaces for civic and cultural use requires artists, designers, architects, and the community to collaborate. By actively fostering these partnerships, both public and private, HAA’s Civic Art + Design program initiates, manages, and maintains public artworks throughout Houston. It serves a vital role as catalyst for change that generates a culturally relevant and rich environment for residents and visitors alike.

Menu 3 Image

Folklife + Civic Engagement

Houston Arts Alliance’s Folklife + Civic Engagement program identifies and honors the artistic and cultural traditions of the city’s tremendously diverse and various communities and works to address the needs of all residents through engagement, citizen-driven initiatives, and equitable community outcomes. The Folklife program has been in existence since 2010. The addition of Civic Engagement to its portfolio was enacted through an HAA bylaws change in 2016.

Menu 4 Image


Grants are a fundamental means of promoting excellence in the creative sector. On behalf of the City of Houston, HAA awards approximately 225 grants annually to nonprofit arts and cultural organizations and individual artists through a competitive grant allocation process.

Menu 5 Image

Capacity Building

Houston Arts Alliance provides voice and leadership through its support of arts organizations and individual artists with programs and services that help build and foster a vibrant and creative community—these programs and services help to ensure that the arts professionals’ creative contributions remain a vital part of community life across Houston and the region.

Menu 8 Image


Houston Arts Alliance continues to play an important role in arts and culture research projects, initiating and participating in studies that demonstrate the far-reaching impact of arts and culture on our economy and quality of life.

Menu 9 Image

Get Involved

Looking for a way to lend a hand? Investing in the arts and culture is an investment in the quality of life for all Houstonians. Join Houston Arts Alliance as a donor, member or volunteer!

Menu 10 Image


Houston Arts Alliance utilizes different vehicles to communicate with it diverse audiences, ranging from the city’s arts and culture community to residents to tourists. Find out more about HAA’s electronic newsletters and connect with us through social media. Our online Press Room provides resources for members of the media.

Thursday, September 28, 2017
close button
Saturday, December 2, 2017
close button
Monday, December 11, 2017
close button
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
close button
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
close button
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
close button
Thursday, December 14, 2017
close button
Monday, December 18, 2017
close button
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
close button


Houston Arts Alliance’s standing committees are the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Grants Committee, Nominating Committee, Leadership Committee, Civic Art Committee, Human Resources Committee, Capacity Building Committee, Folklife + Civic Engagement Committee, and the Audit Committee, as mandated by HAA’s Bylaws. Committee chairs are appointed by the Board Chairman.

Most program committees include non-board members appointed by the Board Chairman. Additionally, ad hoc committees are created as necessary by the Board Chair.

Though Board of Directors meetings are open door per the Texas Open Meetings Act, committee meetings are not public.

Members of the committees that oversee the programs of HAA are listed below.



Susanne Burkeholder
Alejandro Colom
Erin McClarty, Chair
Cissy Segall Davis
Ronnie Hagerty
Debbie McNulty
Adán Medrano
Kathy Ploch


Philamena Baird
Ryan Dennis
Lloyd Gite
Michael Guidry
Craig Massey, Chair
Debbie McNulty
Judy Nyquist
Linda Shearer
Sebastien Solar
Fabené J. Welch


Sylvia Cásares
Oui (Chatwara) Duran
John F. Guess, Jr.
Ashley Langley
Sara Morgan
Judy Nyquist, Chair


Lauren Anderson
​Susanne Burkeholder
Kaye DeWalt
Fatima Mawji
Erin McClarty
Judy Nyquist
Louise Upshaw-McClenny, Chair
Christine West

July 16
close button